1. Home
  2. Transportation

Effective July 1, 2024 Transportation Division operations (with the exception of the Pipeline Safety Bureau) will transfer to the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT)

For complaints, please call our Consumer Relations Department at 1-888-427-5772.

The Transportation Division is divided into four areas: the Applications Section, Ambulance and Railroad Bureau, the Compliance/Investigations Bureau, and the Pipeline Safety Bureau.


The Applications Section processes applications for authorities to operate as a regulated motor carrier. Everyone providing compensated transportation services in New Mexico must receive an operating authority from the PRC, including limousines, taxis, shuttle services, tour and sightseeing operators, household goods moving services, non-emergency transport, network companies, towing services, and repossession services. This areas also administers the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) system.

The Ambulance and Railroad Bureau processes applications and tariffs for ambulance service carriers. The Bureau also enforces railroad safety standards through a partnership with the Federal Railroad Administration and ensures compliance of the Ambulance Standards Act.

The Investigations / Compliance Bureau enforces the PRC’s rules and regulations and the Motor Carrier Act. The Bureau conducts periodic inspections of all motor carriers and investigates complaints. The Bureau may present the results of its inspections and investigations to the Commission and ask that the PRC impose a fine or penalty on a motor carrier and suspend or revoke its operating authority. The Bureau also enforces compliance with the PRC’s financial responsibility requirements and annual reporting.

The Pipeline Safety Bureau conducts audits and inspections of intrastate natural gas and hazardous liquid pipelines. The bureau also does damage prevention and enforces federal pipeline regulations on behalf of the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) for the state.

Public Regulation Commission
Transportation Division
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504
Phone: (505) 827-4519 
(Please listen carefully and follow the prompts.)

Transportation Division
Transportation Division Office Directory Transportation (505) 827-4519
Applications Section
Yvette Hetzer Applications Supervisor – Certificates and Permits (505) 470-9053
Justin Garcia Applications- Business Operations Specialist / Warrants (505) 695-8949
Debbie Garcia Applications- Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) / Certificates and Permits (505) 487-0867
Ambulance & Railroad Bureau
Kacy Dunn Bureau Chief (505) 490-5012
David Armstrong Inspector- Railroad Safety (505) 490-0689
Moises Pena Ambulance Investigator (505) 819-9709
Crystal Boies Compliance Officer –  Ambulance Certificates & Tariffs (505) 699-6232
Compliance / Investigations
Fidel Archuleta Bureau Chief (505) 470-7990
Amalia Varela-Padilla Investigator (505) 470-6954
Marcus Erickson Investigator (505) 795-4445
Vince Crespin Investigator (505) 490-2177
James T. Martinez Investigator (505) 490-7194
Chris Gutierrez Compliance- Financial Responsibility & Annual Reports (505) 490-0489
Kevan Bay-Bojorquez Compliance- Financial Responsibility & Annual Reports (505) 795-1370
Pipeline Safety Bureau Title Phone
Jason Montoya Bureau Chief (505) 946-8314
Tina Cigliano-Sisneros Management Analyst (505) 670-3149
Gabriel Cassell Administrative Assistant (505) 629-9603
James Stanovcak Pipeline Safety Supervisor (505) 490-2135
Vacant Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 490-2958
Antonio Archuleta Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 490-0567
David Walters Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 629-3561
Chris Gutierrez Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 699-8693
Margaret Doyle Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 699-2680
Zane Ward Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 470-7854
Kevin Duke Pipeline Safety Inspector (505) 470-0042
Joe Lopez Damage Prevention Inspector, NM – South (505) 231-5204
Ricardo Herrera Damage Prevention Inspector, NM – Central (505) 629-3564
Joaquin Pineda Damage Prevention Supervisor/Inspector, NM – North (505) 795-0969

Transportation Division Director

Jesse C. Montoya

Phone: (505) 795-2308