## NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION

## **COMMISSIONERS**

DISTRICT 1 CYNTHIA B. HALL, CHAIRDISTRICT 2 JEFFERSON L. BYRDDISTRICT 3 JOSEPH MAESTAS, VICE-CHAIRDISTRICT 4 THERESA BECENTI-AGUILARDISTRICT 5 STEPHEN FISCHMANN



P.O. Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

> CHIEF OF STAFF Wayne Propst

*Media Contact:* Patrick Rodriguez, PIO (505) 490-7910

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 29, 2022

## New Mexico Public Regulation Commission Offers New Online Resource Dedicated to the Work of the PRC Nominating Committee

SANTA FE – Today, the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) announced the launch of a web page on the PRC's website that's dedicated to the work of the newly formed PRC nominating committee, a select group tasked with evaluating and recommending candidates to serve on the Commission, which will transition from an elected body to an appointed panel in January 2023.

This new online resource helps visitors stay up to date on issues related to the PRC nominating committee and contains links to upcoming meetings, agenda items, notices, and committee member contact information, and will include qualifications and application procedures for those interested in serving on the Commission. The web page can be found at <u>https://www.nm-prc.org/nominating-committee/</u>

In 2020, Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham signed legislation establishing the PRC nominating committee, to consist of seven New Mexico residents knowledgeable about public utility regulation, with the first members named earlier this year. Nominating committee members serve four-year terms on a volunteer basis and are appointed one each by the Speaker of the House, Senate Pro Tempore, House Minority Leader, and Senate Minority Leader, with three others appointed by the governor's administration. Current members are **former Ohkay Owingeh Gov. Ron Lovato**, **Rikki Seguin**, **William Brancard**, **House Speaker Brian Egolf**, **Cydney Beadles**, **Denise Ramonas**, and **former state Rep. Alonzo Baldonado**.

Before the end of this year the PRC nominating committee will meet multiple times, with an initial meeting scheduled for Monday, August 1, 2022. The nominating committee will then recommend at least five candidates to Gov. Lujan Grisham, who will appoint three of them to serve on the next term of the Commission, provided they are approved by the state Senate.

A constitutional amendment was adopted by the New Mexico Legislature and approved by state voters in 2020 to change the makeup of the PRC from a five-member elected body to a three-member governor-appointed panel beginning on January 1, 2023.

*The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission* (*NMPRC*) *regulates the <u>utilities</u>, <u>telecommunications</u>, and <u>motor carrier</u> industries to ensure fair and reasonable rates, and to assure reasonable and adequate services to the public as provided by law.* 

*The NMPRC also promotes public safety through the offices of <u>Pipeline Safety</u> <u>Bureau</u> and <u>Transportation Division</u>.* 

# # #